Breakers

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > BLOWOUTS HOBBY TALK > BASKETBALL

Notices

BASKETBALL Post your Basketball Cards Hobby Talk

Old 04-07-2017, 02:20 PM   #1
asujbl

Send a message via MSN to asujbl
Default NBA - Max, Super Max, Designated Player + More

This is an absolutely fascinating read. It's so good it's not even worth trying to bullet point. This should be required reading before you are allowed to post in threads regarding free agents, the CBA, the salary cap etc... I consider myself pretty smart (I understand a good bit of the CBA and I'm a CPA in real life) and it still made my head spin going over the numbers.

You don't have to be a Jazz fan to appreciate.

Gordon Hayward Could Become Most Interesting Man in NBA This Summer | HeatHoops - A Miami Heat blog
Old 04-07-2017, 02:47 PM   #2
SteveO21

The Pacers are facing this same dilemma with Paul George this summer, though it's not an absolute necessity that they extend him this summer because he still has another year on his contract. If he makes an All-NBA team then he qualifies for this designated-veteran-player extension that would kick in for the 2018-19 season and projects be worth about $209 million over five years (about $42 million annually). He can still qualify for that designated-veteran-player extension next season as well though, since he is still under contract with the Pacers for next season.

As a fan of the Pacers, I'm really hoping he makes an All-NBA team this season because I think it would be too much money to pass up on for PG13. Sure he could still qualify for the extension if he makes All-NBA next season but if the opportunity to guarantee that extension is there this summer I don't think you take the risk and hope you make All-NBA again the next season.
Old 04-07-2017, 02:48 PM   #3
yiguiri2002