Blowout Cards Forums
Baseball Prospect

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > BLOWOUTS HOBBY TALK > BASEBALL

Notices

BASEBALL Post your Baseball Cards Hobby Talk

Old 01-12-2011, 01:09 PM   #1
fishacura

Default Case prices...how???

How can there be such a difference on case prices. Look at blowout for example....$232 for bowman sterling hobby box right now and $929 or so for a 4 box case.

How can online retailers be selling a 4 box case for anywhere between $700 and $1200? Does Topps sell wholesale at a variety of price points? Just cannot for the life of me understand the variability.

Please bear with me...I am a noob and just fascinated by this. I like Blowout because of their service (top notch). But what really interested me here is how some of these companies (particularly those with such low prices) can stay afloat? Are they stolen goods or something
fishacura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 02:10 PM   #2
topherkris1
Inactive Account

asdfasdfasdf

Last edited by topherkris1; 11-13-2011 at 12:34 PM.
topherkris1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 02:12 PM   #3
Chaddie84

Quote:
Originally Posted by topherkris1 View Post
This is standard practice and it's not exactly nice.

1. Offer Best Prices, Occasionally At A Loss.
2. Build Customer Loyalty
3. Rely on high turnover and customer loyalty to eliminate competition using low prices.
4. Slowly raise prices until threatened by another start-up. At which point, you drop prices again to crush them.

It's all about using your previous sales in the bank and line of credit to simply crush the competition.

The consumer benefits until they establish too large of a market share and there's no incentive for start-ups or their competition to continue. They just have to get it to the point where the start-up cash to compete is too large for any reasonable person to take on the risk.