Blowout Cards Forums
AD Golden Auction 1 WEEKLY defualt

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > BLOWOUTS OTHER HOBBY TALK > COINS & CURRENCY

Notices

COINS & CURRENCY Post your Coins, Currency, & Precious Metals Hobby Talk

Old 12-27-2016, 09:38 AM   #1
lakesidez

Default Gold received as a Christmas gift

Our kids each received a 5 gram bar of gold from their grandparents. It's in a nice holder from APMEX (link below).

5 gram Gold Bar - APMEX (In TEP Package) | APMEX (Gold Bars & Rounds) | APMEX

Now I have zero knowledge about gold as an investment but would like to look into purchasing more. Granted we already have a safe deposit box which is where these will end up today. But I am thinking about dabbling more in metals.

Any advise and or tips? I like the APMEX site, as I was able to create an account and they track your portfolio and value for you.

I am a total newbie so please ignore my ignorance, lol.
Old 12-27-2016, 09:43 AM   #2
nmordowitz

My advice - if you are not currently a metals trader - work with someone in commodities for about 5 years - learn what moves the market
Then you can make the decision to dabble
Those markets can move on the slightest news somewhere that you have no clue and you can lose your shirt..
nmordowitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 09:45 AM   #3
lakesidez

Quote:
Originally Posted by nmordowitz View Post
My advice - if you are not currently a metals trader - work with someone in commodities for about 5 years - learn what moves the market
Then you can make the decision to dabble
Those markets can move on the slightest news somewhere that you have no clue and you can lose your shirt..
Maybe I should define dabble, in my terms, I am more so looking at this as a long term investment to supplement my other investments. More so maybe buy 5 g a month and store them away type of thing.
Old 12-27-2016, 09:49 AM   #4
nmordowitz