Blowout Cards Forums
2017 black Friday wave 7

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > BLOWOUTS HOBBY TALK > BASKETBALL

Notices

BASKETBALL Post your Basketball Cards Hobby Talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2013, 04:28 PM   #1
jumbogorilla
Member
 
jumbogorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,892
Default Steve Nash NT Card needs grammar check

I don't know how many people read the back of the cards on a Jersey/Auto card like the one I got from John Y., but here's what the back of the card reads:

"A fixture on the All-NBA teams throughout the 2000s, Nash is the only player ever to shoot 50 percent from the field, 40 percent from 3-point distance and 90 percent from the foul line in four seasons. Only Larry Bird did it even twice. Nash fell just a few buckets shy in 2010-11 at 49.2 and 39.5 percent."

Just sharing 'cause I got a laugh out of it, overall SO satisfied with the card. Thanks John!
__________________
It's like deja vu all over again.
jumbogorilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:33 PM   #2
Knicker_Please
Member
 
Knicker_Please's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,974
Default

I don't think it's improper...it's a bit awkward but I think it works...
Like - only Larry bird did it, but he only did it twice...saying no one else has even done it more than twice...
__________________
TRADING KNICKS TICKETS FOR CARDS!!
www.photobucket.com/knickerpleasenba
Iman Shumpert super collector
Knicker_Please is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:35 PM   #3
zachlevy
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 503
Default

He did it in four straight seasons....you're saying Bird did it for four straight seasons twice, so 8 times? I doubt it.
zachlevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:38 PM   #4
Knicker_Please
Member
 
Knicker_Please's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,974
Default

In your best believe it or not voice - only larry bird did it even twice.
Saying he was the only one that even did it twice besides Nash who did it 4 times.

I don't think it's incorrect. Only larry bird even did it twice? Is that the correct way?
__________________
TRADING KNICKS TICKETS FOR CARDS!!
www.photobucket.com/knickerpleasenba
Iman Shumpert super collector
Knicker_Please is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:38 PM   #5
WillC
Member
 
WillC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9,133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knicker_Please View Post
I don't think it's improper...it's a bit awkward but I think it works...
Like - only Larry bird did it, but he only did it twice...saying no one else has even done it more than twice...
Well, Nowitzki and Mark Price also did it, so it would be wrong to say Bird was the only other player to do it.

It's definitely an error.

Not a huge one though. Pretty sure I've seen worse, but I can't think of specific examples.
__________________
Do you have any Chronology autos or inscriptions? If so, PM me.
WillC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:40 PM   #6
Knicker_Please
Member
 
Knicker_Please's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,974
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WillC View Post
Well, Nowitzki and Mark Price also did it, so it would be wrong to say Bird was the only other player to do it.

It's definitely an error.

Not a huge one though. Pretty sure I've seen worse, but I can't think of specific examples.
Oh well if dirk and price have also done it twice then yes it is an error lol...

But grammatically it seems ok no?
__________________
TRADING KNICKS TICKETS FOR CARDS!!
www.photobucket.com/knickerpleasenba
Iman Shumpert super collector
Knicker_Please is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:42 PM   #7
Knicker_Please
Member
 
Knicker_Please's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,974
Default

It's not saying he's the only one besides Nash to do it, and he even did it twice..it's saying he's the only other one to do it 2 or more times...Nash and bird are the only ones to do in multiple seasons. Which is exactly what it's saying...
Nash has done it 4 times, but only one player has done it even twice. That makes sense right?
__________________
TRADING KNICKS TICKETS FOR CARDS!!
www.photobucket.com/knickerpleasenba
Iman Shumpert super collector

Last edited by Knicker_Please; 01-29-2013 at 04:45 PM.
Knicker_Please is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:56 PM   #8
WillC
Member
 
WillC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9,133
Default

Yeah, actually, that does make sense.

Could have been worded a lot better though...
__________________
Do you have any Chronology autos or inscriptions? If so, PM me.
WillC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 05:06 PM   #9
Knicker_Please
Member
 
Knicker_Please's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,974
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WillC View Post
Yeah, actually, that does make sense.

Could have been worded a lot better though...
Definitely lol...but I don't think it's incorrect
__________________
TRADING KNICKS TICKETS FOR CARDS!!
www.photobucket.com/knickerpleasenba
Iman Shumpert super collector
Knicker_Please is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 06:49 PM   #10
jameshues
Member
 
jameshues's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,501
Default

Technically, its grammatically correct but my god does that sound awful.
__________________
Looking for all CHRIS PAUL patches and autos!
My photobucket: http://www.photobucket.com/jameshues
jameshues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 04:43 AM   #11
jumbogorilla
Member
 
jumbogorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,892
Default

guys...it's supposed to say

"Even Larry Bird did it only twice"

haha
__________________
It's like deja vu all over again.
jumbogorilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 04:53 AM   #12
Knicker_Please
Member
 
Knicker_Please's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,974
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jumbogorilla View Post
guys...it's supposed to say

"Even Larry Bird did it only twice"

haha
honestly bro, its not. the way you said it makes less sense, its right on the card.

it's saying only larry bird could even do it twice. everyone else who has done it has only done it once. think of it that way. but its right honestly...
__________________
TRADING KNICKS TICKETS FOR CARDS!!
www.photobucket.com/knickerpleasenba
Iman Shumpert super collector

Last edited by Knicker_Please; 01-30-2013 at 04:56 AM.
Knicker_Please is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2013, Blowout Cards Inc.