Blowout Cards Forums
Basketball

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > BLOWOUTS HOBBY TALK > NON-SPORTS

Notices

NON-SPORTS Post Your Non-Sports Cards Hobby Talk

Old 12-03-2023, 04:56 PM   #1
chilly55

Default Anyone putting togther "impossible" sets?

I saw a similar thread over in the Baseball forum. Anyone putting together master sets that are nearly impossible.

I've got three going and not sure when I will ever finish them.

1st in the Artbox Terminator 2 Filmcardz set. I am shy two cards, one of which I'll probably never get. I need the Filmware PW5 card and the ever elusive FX1. The FX1 has a print run of 30. I have all of the other cards in the set, though I am upgrading a few cards for conditions.

2nd, I have a master run of all of the TV 24 releases. Only card I am shy of is the season 4 expansion dual autograph of Gregory Itzin & Dennis Haysbert Dual. I've only seen two the last several years and was outbid both times.

3rd, I am putting together a PSA 9 or better set of the 1975 Planet of the Apes. I am close to averaging a 9.0 for the 66 cards, but still have some work to do.

Each of these sets are over 15 years in them making.

Anyone else working on "impossible" sets?

Bill
chilly55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2023, 05:28 PM   #2
armyml

Love these kind of threads.

I am going for a PSA 10 set of 1978 Topps Jaws 2. I'll never finish but it's a fun one. Every PSA 10 is a pop 1. The base set is 59 cards with black borders and horribly off-centered. I've got 3 PSA 10s so far. No chance at opening old packs and submitting cards because the packs are in awful condition and the cards just aren't centered.
armyml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2023, 07:49 PM   #3
CicadaMound

Hard nonsports sets must be impossible, some of these cards have to be buried deep in closets of people who bought one box of cards because they liked the property but have no connection to the organized hobby.
Old 12-03-2023, 07:51 PM   #4
DynaEtch